Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

The Scenic Route to Galway

Cycling to a Galway gig from Westport with some German lads

We’ve been plugging away at this scenic cycling lark for quite a while. In 2019 I got a shout from DokFilm, a German documentary company. They were making a cycling documentary about cycling routes in Ireland.

I still have a small amount of media profile in Germany after doing a few tours supporting both David Hasselhoff and Johnny Logan back in the early 2000’s. That’s not true, I turned up on a Google search.

A couple of years berore this I’d cycled all of the Wild Atlantic Way, writing about it each week for the Irish Independent, so I guess I turned up in their search for cycling in Ireland. They asked if I’d take them out for a spin on one of my favourite routes. It would have been rude to say no.

Follow us on Instagram

For this spin I brought them to Galway from Westport, via Doo Lough, Glassilaun beach and Clifden. It’s still one of my faourite routes in the country.

At the time I was playing with the band King Kong Company, so we timed the cycle to land in Galway on an evening that we had a gig in The Roisín Dubh. They caught some of the gig, but thankfully turned the cameras off when the gig was over; it probably got messy. There was no cycling the next day.

This video is some of what they broadcast. Almost all of it is in German, but the secenery is nice, although the beardlessness is a bit disconcerting.

Thanks for reading Spoke Yokes! Just add your email to get free new posts into your inbox.

Discussion about this podcast